Neck pickup, help me end the madness!

el84ster

Reaction score
Guys, I need serous help from your collective knowledge.
my question is how does anyone, ever get a good sound out of a neck humbucker (not too muddy and huge) without making the bridge sound horrible?? Talking about with a les Paul, the neck
on my L5 is heaven!

for background, I’ve been playing for over 30 years, run a recording studio, have a music degree, been around guitar players forever.
I can get a great neck sound by itself making the amp brighter, but then the bridge is shrill. So I roll down the bridge tone, then the bridge sucks.

how do folks do this? I wish I could use both but mainly live on the bridge.

I’m using early pat number pick ups, so they’re clear and bright. I’ve lowered the bass side of the neck pickup but then the lower strings get too weak. I’ve messed with the pole screws, that helps some...I’ve changed magnets...gads.

What is the answer? Do most just pick one pickup and live there?
Thanks in advance for helping save my sanity!

Brek

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Yeah, I guess I do pick one, although trying to use both as was advised by a member on here to do, and to just play about with the balance. This muddiness people speak of , I not sure what that sound is, if pickup is too close I find the bass is over emphasised like putting a rear ported speaker too close to a wall. I have my neck quite low though, 4mm from bottom of string. I for no particular reason that to keep dirt out balance individual strings making sure no one pole is lower than the cover, and also non to night that the base of the cheese head is proud of the cover either.

NotScott

Reaction score