NAD - Review and Clips!

IronWeso

Reaction score
Let me start of by saying I'm a tube amp lover. I've been playing the same amp for over three years now (a highly modded JCM2000 - voodoo amps). And I enjoy that amp a lot. It really covers everything from cleans to high gain. I'm in a cover band so a diverse amp is necessary. I use that amp (have a 3rd channel mod to split the green channel into 2) with some pedals and a Gmajor 2 and I can cover country to metal no problem in my band.

However, recently I have been itching for something... different. A different flavor of gain really. I was tempted to go for a Friedman or Engl a few times. There's a LOT of nice amps out there. But I started doing some research and decided to give a higher end modeler a shot. But this was a struggle... I am set in my ways a bit. Digital? BLAH. No way this would work. After hours of comparisons I finally decided to give it a shot. Why not? It can cover everything my Marshall can and a whole lot more from the videos I watched and listened to closely.
This is NOT another modeler vs tube amp conversation. I will not A/B them for you, this has been done a thousand times on youtube and if you closed your eyes and listened with your EARS you can't tell the difference. This is however a thorough review of my findings so far:

NAD - Fractal Audio Axe Fx II

I am quite convinced after 3 days of playing for about 24 hours that I will keep this for a long time. That's a few very late nights. I'll get into that in a bit. First, all the feel is there. Different guitars sound different. You can use toggle switches, volume and tone controls just the same. I was cautious about that to start. I am not in the business of conceding anything. But its all there in the feel.