NAD - Laney Cub 15 head

Guitar Rod

Reaction score
I'm now a Laney artist!

Well, I now own a Laney, anyways. Sold my Blackstar HT-5RH and bought this for the same price. Even Steven. And even though I loved the HT-5, I love this wayyyyyyyyyy more. It suits me so well. It's a classic rock monster through a 4x12. I've always loved that grainy Laney distortion that borders on fuzz, and this gets very close too it. Think of it as a 15watt Supergroup in a fugly box. Didn't expect that with EL84s, but it works. I've heard some say it sounds like a Vox. I only hear that maybe in the cleans. Get into crunch and distortion, and it's a beast. In 15 watt mode, its got a brighter, tighter pre-amp distortion, but in 0.75 watt mode, you get that fuller, saggier roar. And >1 watt is still LOUD. 112DB max gain/volume. I'm seriously impressed. May like it better than all my other amps.

Now the negatives. First, it's fugly. If they put this in a classic Laney box, or even put salt and pepper Supergroup grill cloth in a square opening, it would sell like hotcakes. Second, the controls are on the top. So if you have it on top of other heads on a 4x12, it's annoying to get at the controls. So I set it on the floor to use it. Third it has a very short power cord. Again, why it's on the floor.

But I forgive all that because it sounds so immense. Works great with pedals, but it sounds best on its own. Pedals change the character, but it's own character suits me best. Don't hear much about the Cub 15 head, but it's a secret little sleeper.

Last edited:

Guitar Rod

Reaction score