NAD: 5F1 Clone Kit Build

Wrench66

Reaction score
I am finally getting around to posting my NAD. I finished this amp back in December and am just now getting around to posting this.

This was my first build, so I wanted to keep it simple. I ordered the kit from Tube Depot. It came with everything I needed to complete the amp. I am a complete novice when it comes to electronics, and the instructions were easy enough for me to follow and complete with no problems. Here is a pic of the complete chassis before installation into the cabinet.

IMG_2531.jpg

And another one or two after the chassis was installed.

IMG_2560.jpg

IMG_2564.jpg

And finally, a few glamour shots of the completed amp and my Studio.

IMG_2570.jpg

IMG_2571.jpg

The kit was a blast to build and the amp sounds fantastic! It took about 8 to 10 hours before the speaker started to break in. I think 5 watts is the perfect home amp. I can get all the tube overdrive I want without damaging my hearing. I love it!

I had a few problems with rattling and vibrating noises. There is some tube rattle, but it's not to noticeable. There was a really annoying noise at increased volume that I finally nailed down to the back panel vibrating against the chassis. The problem is that the back panel is held on by four screws that fasten it to the cabinet at each end. This leaves the middle to vibrate like crazy. It needs a couple of screws in the middle to attach the back panel directly to the chassis. I think I've solved this with some firm rubber weather stripping.

I think I'm ready for another build, I'm thinking of a British voiced, low wattage combo. Anyone got any recommendations?

Edit: If someone could show me how to make the pics bigger, I would appreciate it!

G Man

Reaction score