My new CNC.

Zeegler

Reaction score
That's really interesting. Please keep us updated on how you like it.

I assume that's the XL model.

Ripthorn

Reaction score
This is the one I've had my eye on. Just not sure how much I would use one since I only build one-offs and I have a CNC mill.

valvetoneman

Reaction score
Looks great

I'd like to get a CNC at some point no idea how difficult it is use one, how long does it take to learn the software

bad565ss

Reaction score
I'm curious how much assembly and setup has to be done and how complicated is the software to use?
The machine is a kit that has to be assembled.
I've been doing cnc work for 35 years so for me it was pretty straight forward. Learning cad will take some time. Do that first or it's useless.

Zeegler

Reaction score
The machine is a kit that has to be assembled.
I've been doing cnc work for 35 years so for me it was pretty straight forward. Learning cad will take some time. Do that first or it's useless.
I used AutoCAD in college, but that was 25 years ago so I'd be pretty rusty but I'm sure I could pick it up quickly. I'm definitely interested in getting myself one of these.

jvin248

Reaction score
I'm curious how much assembly and setup has to be done and how complicated is the software to use?
I have a Shapeoko and got it when my kids were ten and thirteen and I supervised the two of them putting it together from the pdf plans as a family summer project. Simple. They had fun.

The hard part is the CAD. Don't buy a machine until you learn how to create what you want in CAD.
And it's 3D CAD. Old 2D stuff can get you started making the models but you feed the CNC with 3D code.

FreeCAD is free, works well, many youtube videos to learn it. https://www.freecadweb.org/
Fusion360 used to be free but they cut out/restricted the hobby level, now it's a monthly subscription around Onshapes cost