My mom hadn't heard me play guitar in 25 years...

180gROC

Reaction score
...until today. She cried.

I was confused at first. I wasn't trying to be particularly impressive. I was just noodling around after changing strings. I looked up, and she was all welled up.

When I was in first grade I started playing trumpet. The first couple years HAD to be hard on my parents. I remember trying to see how loud I could blow the damned thing. They only complained when I flirted with incessant. I got serious later, and played some big shows when I was still very young, but those first years... man...

I picked up electric guitar at 13. I remember my mom trying to swallow her negativity at the thought of another year or two of just starting out on a now much louder instrument. It wasn't like she was into Slayer and Exodus like I was. She suffered through it, again.

At 16 my parents broke up and both moved out of the house. I stayed behind and got emancipated. I lived in our family home by myself, had a job, went to school, and promptly moved my runaway girlfriend in. I got a gig with a band, and since I had no parents, we practiced in my living room. Kegger every Sat night, chick/chicks hanging out all the time. I was on top of the world.

But I digress. Mom walked in unexpectedly one Saturday night with 100 people in the house and backyard, a keg in the bathtub, nekkid teens in the hot tub, different drugs being consumed in different rooms, a full on quarters game playing out on her antique dining room table and me playing metal guitar with my mates in the living room. It was loud, and she was old. She knew it was a party pad, so that didn't shock her, but my guitar playing did.

Although I've always kept in touch with her, I've walked away from a lot of my family due to circumstances that arose from situations back in those days. I moved away from them all, but still see my mom every year or so. She came and visited today.