My Joe Bonamassa Signature LP. Final analysis

tonemonster58

Reaction score
I'm usually hanging out in other portions of the forum, mostly the vintage area but I felt compelled to come over here and share some of my thoughts now that I have had my Epi JB Goldtop for over a year.

Just for a little of my background for context, I have been playing for 30+ years 7 of which was as a professional touring player. I have owned and played everything under the sun and currently I am blessed to the point I can afford to own and play anything I choose to. I won't go into all of my equipment but suffice it to say it definitely is a pro rig. I have whittled down my stable of guitars to 15 of which one is my Epi Joe Bonamassa Gold Top. For reference I also have a newer Gibson Les Paul Traditional, a vintage 59 Gibson LP Junior, a vintage Gibson 56 single cut LP Junior TV, a vintage 63 ES 335 and a vintage 61 SG to name a few.

Now about the Epi JB Goldtop. After a full year with this superb guitar I am prepared to say it is hands down a much better guitar than the Gibson Traditional I have (also a good guitar) which is now relegated to back up duty. Now I don't consider myself to be a cork sniffer but I must admit I have always been a bit of a guitar snob. When it comes to vintage equipment I firmly believe that Epiphone is at the very least equal to if not sometimes better than similar Gibson guitars. But until recently I don't think I would have ever put modern Epiphone on the same footing as Gibson. As for me, IMHO I have to say that Epiphone has caught up.

I will say this that I have made some mods to the JB, but to be fair I made the same mods to the Gibson. What I did is to change out the bridge and studs to steel Faber and Callaham, then the tailpiece and studs also once again to steel Faber and Callaham. After this I had the neck Plek'd and put on a pre ban Elephant Ivory nut then voila...tonal nirvana.