Music theory questions

silversky

Reaction score
:thumb: Hey guys, Im a theory noob still.. and you may need to explain it to me very simply :laugh2: ......

:hmm: When you improvise on guitar and a song is in the key of F major and you'd usually just improvise with a Dminor.Fmajor scale around the neck, Would it be possible to solo in different keys? (besides the relative minor) like if you had a 1 4 5 chord progression - Fmajor, Bbmajor, C major.. Would you just solo with the one Fmajor/Dminor key? Or could you play a C major scale, Bb major scale along with this since the chords are those? If so would it had to be played only when those chords are played? Or is it when your in that one key your stuck with only the one scale/ Key to improvise with? Im a theory noob.. lol

And Can somebody name every single type of chord there is?
Im confused about this too.. Somebody told me theres such thing as a minor Dominant and a major dominant chord? I thought a Dominant chord was a whole OTHER type of chord, just like how theres no such thing as a minor-Major chord or Major-minor chord (lol you know what I mean right)
And what about Augmented chords? Are there minor and major augmented chords? Like I know theres minor diminished chords and such but I just thought some chords were just as they are by them selves and there was no minor or major added to it ?

If theres such thing as Augmented minor chords and such would the formulas go like- 1 b3 b#? Oh and are there 7ths added to it? if so would it be 1 3b 5# 7b?.... lol very confusing to me..

:cool:And... what are dominant chords exactly?
Off topic again but can someone please give me the formula to EVERY single formula to chords... 9th, 11th chords and such aswell? :fingersx:

Btw Does anyone know of some really good chord books that show every single position along the neck for every chord? :laugh2: Please..