Multitrack recorder vs. ipad

Lhdr

Reaction score
Hoping you guys can walk me through a decision. I’ve decided I’m not going to use my desktop computer to do basic recording. Don't have the space around my iMac computer and I need portability.

Background and needs.

This would be for solo songwriting and fun. Mostly it needs to be fun and easy. The whole purpose for this is to be an enjoyable hobby for myself. I dont want to (if I can) be caught up in manuals, settings, adaptors, latency problems etc. I would be laying down acoustic and electric guitar tracks, bass, vocal, piano. Have no idea how you get drums going but any help with that would be appreciated. I cant drum. I am a guitarist at heart, dont do beats etc. In the early 90’s, I briefly had some fun with a Fostex 8 track cassette Machine. I assume the sound quality of todays digital machines is exceptionally better?

I don’t need many efffects. I can mic my modeling amp, so just need some slight vocal and acoustic effects. Sound quality should be clean and crisp but I’m not searching for any perfection whatsoever. Editing doesn’t need to be crazy, just simple. I dont even know how to do punch in and out or do loops and certainly don't know diddly about DAWS and editing.

I was thinking of a Tascam DP 08, a condenser mic, maybe a shure 57 and calling it a day. On the other hand I was thinking of using my current 5th gen ipad, buying a condenser, sm 57, an interface and learning garageband or similar DAW using the ipad.

The only thing that really intrigues me is the ability to access guitar software like Amplitube which would really spice up the electric guitar portion. With that I know I would have to go the ipad route where I am now spending half my time adjusting settings, reading, fighting latency and frustration and learning how to use DAWS.

northernguitarguy

SWeAT hOg
Reaction score