Moving to Hawaii, questions about humidity and transport to the islands.

Hawaiilespaul

Reaction score
Hey guys,
I just signed up and wanted to introduce myself and ask a few questions, if I may.

I started playing guitar in 78. My first guitar was a knock off Les Paul and a few years later, a knock off SG, loved them. In the late 80's, early 90's, I found myself opening (with my band) for various notable bands like Soundgarden, Doughboys, Rollins Band blah, blah, blah, throughout Europe. I was 18 at the time. By 93 I moved to Los Angeles in hopes of making it big, but failed miserably, ha. I ended up as a propmaker in the movie biz in Hollywood. I had good career.
I moved to Austin TX in 2012.

Now, I am moving to Maui Hawaii.

The question I have is:
I am shipping all my belongings including about 8 guitars (Gibson Les Pauls, Sg, Firebird, Fender Tele, Strat, etc) and two Marshall JCM 800's and four 1960 cabs, A&B's.

I'm shipping everything in a 40' shipping container. It takes about 3-4 weeks to get everything to Maui.
My situation on Maui is this, I bought a fixer upper in Haiku, which is in the jungle and humidity is through the roof.

Beside loosening the strings on the guitars, what else should I be aware of. I'm worried about warping the necks in the hot container.
Once I'm there, should I worry about humidity for the guitars and Marshalls, since we have yet to install Air Conditioning in that house.
Should everything be wrapped in plastic?
Anybody have experience with high humidity?

Florida, Southern states and Hawaii people, any advice?

Thanks, C

Last edited:

LP1865

Reaction score
Hey!
:welcome:to the forum.
I can't speak for the US, but I live in India, and it gets shit hot here (48 degrees Celsius/ 118 degrees F).
Anyway, I would suggest you keep your guitars in their cases, with a dehumidifier in the case.
Theres nothing much to worry about, its gonna be okay.

judson

Reaction score