Looking back

gibbycustom

Reaction score
Evening everyone…Does anyone ever miss the excitement of first learning to play? I’ve been playing guitar for roughly 27 years, and I recently heard one of the first songs I learned to play. I had a moment of nostalgia, and was thinking of how amazing it was to learn songs and techniques in the beginning. I was a teen in the nineties, and I would print tabs from the shiny new internet thingy. There was just something so special in those early years that I just can’t capture anymore. It wasn’t about being a shredder, the gear, or even being better than the next guy..it was just the joy of learning and playing. Maybe it’s just me…I haven’t been jamming with friends like I used to, or playing as much at home. We all just have lives and responsibilities now, and playing long hours isn’t an option anymore. Maybe I’m being sappy, but I was just wondering if anyone here has felt like this, and if you were ever able to recapture some of that magic.

Last edited:

simon connor

Reaction score
I've been playing since I was 14. I started taking lessons in college, but it was pretty hard work and much of the jazz theory they were teaching was beyond me. Then I played in a band for seven-ish years during and after college. That ended when I moved to Seattle in 1991 and I actually started studying guitar in a way that worked for me (or I was just old enough or something, I don't know what it was...) Anyway, that point, when I was 30 years old and I started actually studying it seriously, was the time that I got the most excitement from it. Interestingly enough, the last few years during the pandemic I started taking lessons again (because what else was I going to do, pandemic etc...) and I had times where I felt that excitement again. So that's my suggestion: find a good teacher, one that works for you, and take lessons!

Kamen_Kaiju

smiling politely as they dream of savage things
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score