Locking tuners post is very low - would you accept this?

ns2a

Reaction score
I was going to install a set of Gotoh SG360 locking tuners on my Ibanez RG. When I did, the tuner post is very low. The (online) dealer says it's fine, you only need one string wrap anyway.

Eh. Would you accept this? The difference between the base of the original tuner to the bottom of the string hole is 4.5mm. And the string angle will obviously change.

What do you think?

Attachments

Subterfuge

Reaction score
I'm no expert but I think it's too low, if it were my rig I wouldn't do it ...

BKS

Reaction score
That looks weird.... No, no go for me either.

Brek

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Are they gotoh tuners? They come in 3 heights on one range they do, if those are from that range they are the lowest height holes at 18mm iirc. They are a touch lower than the klusons on my guitars in your picture, but I wouldn’t think it’s an issue.

With my grovers the hole sits higher than the klusons, on my vintage set and modern set of milk bottles, interestingly the vintage set has a shorter 10mm section, so the holes I drilled for the those are too shallow for the modern ones, although I really don’t want to drill any further through. String tension should be lower if higher and tighter if lower?

Brian N

Reaction score
If you're going for tuning stability, those low posts will have the opposite effect, since they'll add friction to the nut. Although locking tuners don't help with tuning stability anyway.

Having the posts so low will change the feel of the guitar, the strings will feel stiffer. I replaced the locking tuners on my LP with normal non-locking tuners because I wanted a slightly higher break angle to get that looser feel.

THDNUT

Platinum Supporting Member
Reaction score
Those low height tuners look a little weird but after a while I would get used to them. They should work ok.

BadPenguin

Reaction score