Legit MIJ Epiphone?

eheiser

Reaction score
This is a MIJ epiphone les paul for sale near me - can you tell from the photos if this is a legit one?
Serial nr. is 810042 - according to seller it's a 1989.
Quite like the look of the headstock but the script "made in japan" just looks off to me...
Any input appreciated :)

brokentoeswalker

Reaction score
I'm no epiphone expert but i'd think that one more likely to be a 1998 model from the serial number. Japanese epiphones came after the orville's, and i think that would fit the time frame more. Looks like a nice Custom.

eheiser

Reaction score
I'm no epiphone expert but i'd think that one more likely to be a 1998 model from the serial number. Japanese epiphones came after the orville's, and i think that would fit the time frame more. Looks like a nice Custom.
It's indeed a 1998, my mistake. Nothing wrong with the script "made in japan" then?

Troy McClure

Reaction score
The italic Made In Japan script was only used in 1998 when they switched from the Orville production to MIJ Epiphones so actually another good way of confirming it's legit.

noobyXD

Reaction score
This is a MIJ epiphone les paul for sale near me - can you tell from the photos if this is a legit one?
Serial nr. is 810042 - according to seller it's a 1989.
Quite like the look of the headstock but the script "made in japan" just looks off to me...
Any input appreciated :)

I used to own an Epiphone Les Paul standard and from the pictures, I could tell it looks legit.

Serial number : 810042 = '98/ October/042 (http://www.epiphonetalk.com/threads/epiphone-serial-number-information-identification.2685/)

2 Screw bell shaped truss rod cover
Gibson Open book style headstock