Large chunk of poly peeled off the headstock

surge98

Reaction score
I have some experience with finishing, enough that I've been able to get good results with oil-based wipe-on poly and nitrocellulose lacquer. Each piece I do seems to end up a little better than the last, but last night I had something bizarre happen as I was finishing up a build. I put a piece of masking tape on the face of the headstock so I could mark the position of the holes for the string retainer bar. When I pulled the tape up, a huge chunk of poly came off with it, all the way down to the bare wood. I was shocked to see how easily it came off, I'm used to thinking of wipe-on poly as thin but very durable. Has anyone seen something like this with a poly finish before? There are two things I can think of that may have caused this:

1. I had originally planned on spraying due to having a waterslide decal on the headstock. I've sprayed lacquer before, but not poly, and not knowing any better I bought a 2X clear instead of a 2K clear. I kept getting an orange peel texture, so I sanded it back as far as I could without damaging the decal and did the rest of the coats with wipe-on poly. Both were oil-based, could there have been some incompatibility between different products, and could it have caused something like this?