Kluson tuners replacement for 2014 Traditional

Deek

Reaction score
I love love love my 2014 Les Paul Traditional, but the tuners are driving me nuts. The guitar does not stay in tune, is some times sharp after sitting a while and I have eight other guitars right next to it that do not have these issues. I want to replace the "Tonepros Vintage-Style Tunder" it came with. Probably Gotoh as I put a set of those on a jazz box and loved the difference. However, they don't make it easy with clear information. Which ones can I get that do NOT require any reaming or modifications AND have the same look? Thank you in advance - I did search the forum.

Deek

Reaction score
I have lightly filed the nut and used some graphite as well. Didn't seem to make any difference at all. I'm not a pro tech by any means, but what is the best way to rule in our out the nut as the problem? GrunGie, I have locking tuners on a Tele and they are amazing in every way. I do want to keep my LP traditional.... traditional though.

Leee

Extremism in defense of Liberty is no vice
Platinum Supporting Member
Reaction score
One quick way to see if the nut is grabbing the strings.
Tune the guitar.
Push down on a string between the tuner and the nut to pull it sharp slightly, and then release.
Then pick the string to check for tuning.
If it remains sharp, that tells you that the nut is grabbing the string and not allowing it to travel in the slot.

I agree on locking tuners.
Everything I own with Rotomatics (the 102) has been swapped out to the locking Rotomatic 502.
Same with all of my Fenders, the locking Schaller is a drop-in swap.

It will not cure the problems of an improperly cut nut, but it makes guitar maintenance quicker and easier.
The string swap takes a fraction of the time, and there’s no more slippage on the post.

Leee

Reaction score
I was just going to say, I understand that there is a Kluson-style tuner that locks now.