Just joined. At long last.

Musikell

Reaction score
I'm picking up a new old stock trans cherry 2019 traditional tomorrow. Ive longed and lusted for a Les Paul even though I'm only an emergency session guitarist. (I was a session keys before lockdown. If an extra guitar track or tweak was needed after the session guitarist had left, I would often be asked to oblige).

I have a Yamaha SE812 and an Ibanez 470DXQM (which is going on eBay) and have always used Elixir 09|42s so have a couple of spare sets.

I see the traditional recommendation is for 10|48s. As the strings are 2 years old I expect they'll need replacing straight away.

Has anyone any views? Any other observations?
s-l1600.jpg

efstop

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome! I've been eyeballing one of those that's available as a demo. That's a lovely colour (Canadian here) on an LP.

Christosterone

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
welcome To the cult....

also, I have a wine red trad too....one of the most gorgeous guitars u will ever own..

I friggin love red lesters...

peobryant

Reaction score
Congratulations, that is a gorgeous guitar. My opinion? Install the pickguard, throw on a set of top wrapped 9s and play the hell out of that thing.

Musikell

Reaction score
Congratulations, that is a gorgeous guitar. My opinion? Install the pickguard, throw on a set of top wrapped 9s and play the hell out of that thing.
Thank you! Indeed I will not play the hell out of it! I’ve got a Squiier strat that cost £40 if I feel a bit Townsendy. I’ll be telling people not to look at it. Maybe lift the lid of the case each Christmas morning and sneak a peek.

redcoats1976

Reaction score
nice top.enjoy it,life is too short to save it for the next guy.

bungle

Reaction score
Playing the hell out of a guitars got nothing to do with Townsend. Don’t be afraid to play your guitar, that’s what it’s for. Enjoy it.. edit: oh ya :welcome:

Last edited:

Gitter

Reaction score