Junior Experts - Help Buy First Gibson

DAKnox

Reaction score
I've been gigging Fenders for 20 years! Now I have a Tele as my number 1 and a Strat as a back-up/alternative.

I've been GAS'ing for a Junior but it looks like the 2016 line-up does not include one so I will be looking at used (which I might have done anyway for the right guitar).

I'm not around Gibson forums (spend my time on TDRI!) so I'm not familiar with what to look out for at all.

So would any Junior owners/fans care to offer some buying advice?

Are there any particular years to look out for? I know specs can change over the years.

Thanks.

Lloyd_m

Reaction score
I'm not a really a Junior expert, but I am a fan :thumb:.

I have a 2015 Junior. I like it. It's a littlle bright with the tone all up, but still a rock machine.
About: They're on the cheap right now (I've seen them as low as 500€ new with the case), but they have the 2015 specs (funny headstock scroll, automatic tuners, gold case, larger neck).
I like these specs but It looks like I'm part of the 0,1% who does...

I have a 2012 Billie Joe Armstrong Junior. It's great! Great sounds (not as much range as the 2015, but still good).
About: Slim tapper neck, classic looks (plus the accurate neck talon, and non-compensated wraparound bridge). Comes with an amazing case.
Regarding the price, the used ones usually sell around 1100€. I got mine brand new for 1000€ last year. The white ones came with an ebony board if you care about that kind of stuff.

I had a 2011 Faded Junior. Nice little guitar. Came with a Gig bag. Got it used for 500€.

You could also get a Custom Shop Junior if you have the budget, but I don't know a lot about them. They're a little bit pricier, but you can find them used for around 1400€.

So it's gonna all depend on your tastes:
- What budget?
- Do you want a "period correct" Junior?
- What neck profile?
- What color?
- What type of fingerboard?