Is there any "leeway" in fret heights?

Southwest

Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm a complete noob to guitar repair/modification, so apologies if this is a stupid question. Having completed my cheap LP kit I'm looking to improve it, and learn some things along the way. Next up is a fret job. I straightened the board using a notched straight edge, then used a fret rocker to test for high frets.

They're all over the place! Virtually every other fret is high/low at some place across the board (low E, middle, high E) which surprises me as apart from one fret, the neck plays really nicely with no choking, sitar or fretting out at all. Is that usual? Every video I've watched stresses how important it is that the frets be perfectly levelled on pain of death. Just looking to understand a bit more before I take my fret file to the guitar. Thanks in advance.

rfrizz

Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm a complete noob to guitar repair/modification, so apologies if this is a stupid question. Having completed my cheap LP kit I'm looking to improve it, and learn some things along the way. Next up is a fret job. I straightened the board using a notched straight edge, then used a fret rocker to test for high frets.

They're all over the place! Virtually every other fret is high/low at some place across the board (low E, middle, high E) which surprises me as apart from one fret, the neck plays really nicely with no choking, sitar or fretting out at all. Is that usual? Every video I've watched stresses how important it is that the frets be perfectly levelled on pain of death. Just looking to understand a bit more before I take my fret file to the guitar. Thanks in advance.
Did the kit come with the neck already fretted? If so, wouldn't this be grounds for a replacement? Beyond simple mods & fixes, I am also a "complete noob" and I wouldn't dare try a complete fret relevel. That is a pretty advanced task.

Roxy13

Reaction score