Is my 2019 R7 Bolivian or East Indian Rosewood? Help!

Rainbowberry

Reaction score
My dream guitar just arrived today! I love how it plays and sounds, although I have a few questions about it!

I'm wondering if it's Bolivian Rosewood or just a lighter Indian Rosewood. Also, I got this from Reverb and I’m not sure if the nut was possibly tampered with... broken/glued together again? What do you guys think?

Experts! Your help is greatly appreciated :)

Attachments

ArchEtech

Gold Supporting Member
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
That definitely does not look like Brazilian to me but I am not an expert. Typically Brazilian is much more uniform, less porous and darker.

Rainbowberry

Reaction score
That definitely does not look like Brazilian to me but I am not an expert. Typically Brazilian is much more uniform, less porous and darker.
Right it definitely isn't Brazilian, however I heard that the newer reissues can come with Bolivian (Which is essentially Pau Ferro).

ArchEtech

Gold Supporting Member
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Right it definitely isn't Brazilian, however I heard that the newer reissues can come with Bolivian (Which is essentially Pau Ferro).

I did not don’t know that but it does look a little bit like that species yes.

Roxy13

Reaction score
I agree it's probably just the lacquer from spraying the neck that is on the nut.

I think it's Indian rw, and it looks like it might be kind of dry. Oil it when you change your strings.

ArchEtech

Gold Supporting Member
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Clean that and oil it up - agree looks dry. That will even it out a bit.

mudface

Boo Bee
Double Platinum Supporting Member
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
It could very well be Bolivian.... I do remember that it would have been indicated on the original shipping box label from Gibson. You could call Gibson and give them the serial number and they could tell you.

Wizard of Ozz

Reaction score