i'm no paint expert (wrinkle question)

jeff.longino

Reaction score
So as the title says, i'm not a paint expert.
My few builds have all been hand rubbed trans tint and then a clear lacquer.

Current build is paint...Krylon ColoxMAXX rattle to be specific.

It was going well but on the 4th and i thought final coat a section decided to wrinkle on me.
I let it dry, sanded it back a bit (not to wood just to get the 3d wrinkle to lay back), wiped clean with alcohol, and tried again.
And alas that same spot just winkled again.

I'm at a loss as to both the cause and more importantly to a solution.

Any hints/suggests are very very welcome.

Brek

Reaction score
Possible it’s a surface containment? And not something your doing wrong, struck me could be something like the cloth used to wipe of any dust from previous coats could have had a silicon based polish on it? Or something like that?

jeff.longino

Reaction score
I thought that but this time I was careful and after sanding it back used a clean wipe and alcohol to clean it. I mean I guess there could still be a remnant. If this thread produces no ideas i'm going to reluctantly sand back to the wood and start over:(

ARandall

Reaction score
Well, I fear that sanding back to wood might be the only cure......as you've done the typical intermediate level fixes already without success.
Is it something that sanding and buffing will remove....as in the levelling aspect of the buff out will make it look just fine....or does the wrinkle affect colour or lower coats so you will always see it?

I've had one or two oddities like that in finishing.....and one of late. A fender style neck where certain patches would come out with white fluffy looking contamination after a coat. You'd do a little sanding to remove it, wipe on some turps to try and break down any possible contaminant, and then coat again. And the white would spread!! - as in it would be a bigger issue than before you did the remedy.