I'm a veteran guitarist, however I've spent my share of loads of money on each guitar. Are the squier classic vibes decent guitars ?

C Squared

Reaction score
For the coin usually a great buy. A friend of mine has a few that I've set up, one dud out of five. If you can play it in person you'll know what your getting. The dud had some really bad fretwork and the bridge was mounted a hair off center

afireinside

Reaction score
Yes but find the older made in china not the newer Indonesian ones! The builds are nicer, they had Tonerider pickups stock and rosewood fretboards not laurel. I just sold one only because of the skinnier neck........ was a killer 60s strat weighed around 7lbs. Super resonate... Should have just put a allparts fat neck on it.... I had a 50s tele was heavy and had bad fretends (easy fix but not a tele guy so sold)
Screenshot_20211109-085249_Facebook.jpg

pondcaster

Reaction score
Yes but find the older made in china not the newer Indonesian ones! The builds are nicer, they had Tonerider pickups stock and rosewood fretboards not laurel. I just sold one only because of the skinnier neck........ was a killer 60s strat weighed around 7lbs. Super resonate... Should have just put a allparts fat neck on it.... I had a 50s tele was heavy and had bad fretends (easy fix but not a tele guy so sold) View attachment 570939

Nailed it!

I owned 4 back in 2010-2012, the CVC, CV BSB and VB teles and a 50s Strat. All were the early CIC ones and they were indeed flawless. Perfect fretwork. Perfect finishes. And as @afireinside said, the pickups were very nice. Mine were all light, too. The BSB actually had a one piece body. Head and shoulders over the Fender MIMs of that time period. Only possible "downside" was the necks were definitely pretty slim. Especially the CVC.

I picked one of the newer CVCs a few years ago and although still nice, wasn't up to the old ones. Find an early one, if at all possible.

ehb

Chief Discombobulator
Gold Supporting Member