i little suggestion for the fake gibby spotters

mobprop667

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
if you dont know what you are talking about, please keep things to yourself.
unless you are 100% certain that you have all of the information and knowledge so you can make an informed appraisal of the situation, please keep from chiming in threads that are asking for a guitars legitimacy.
there have been some instances lately of guitars being outed as fakes which were in fact real gibsons and some embarrassing situations came up.
i have been playing les pauls for over 25 years, as well as working with them every day at my job, yet that doesnt make me an expert in spotting fakes, so to those of you that may fancy yourself as a bit of an expert, please dont bring a knife to a gunfight.
if you are posting factual information, make sure that it is right, or leave it to the experts that know this stuff inside out.
i am not pointing fingers or laying blame toward anyone, i am just making a suggestion.

thanks for reading.

teame1

Reaction score
Wow a tad strong! Comes across as a bit more than just a suggestion.
So who are the experts then?

apocalypsebob

Reaction score
I've seen this happen various places, seen a couple sales go bad because some person claimed fake on a real guitar

it is quite unfortunate when it happens

mobprop667

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Wow a tad strong! Comes across as a bit more than just a suggestion.
So who are the experts then?

not me. and no it is not too strong. people who dont know what they are talking about or dont have all of the correct information should not give advice.

BCRGreg
Eric Ernest
ConGREGation
or any of thre other vendors, luthiers, or experienced repair people here.

bertzie

Reaction score
Please tell me every possible thing that could discern a guitar from being a fake gibson.

I promise I will in no way use this to make the perfect fradulant gibson guitars.

nbeersiii

Banned
Reaction score