Help with Wiring Issue Please

onlypadog

Reaction score
Hi all

So I went ahead and did my planned mods - put in SD Humbuckers with 2 push/pull coil splits. I went basically for this diagram:

Wiring Diagram

But I wired 0.022 Bumblebees from the middle lugs of the volume pots to the end lugs of the tone pots, and grounded the middle lug on the tone pot instead of having them as the diagram. Was going for a combination of 50s wiring and push/pull...

So now, I have no sound at all from either pickup (only tested using screwdriver on the top trick and could do with some advice as to where I might have gone wrong..

Here's some photos...

First the finished article:

IMG_0675.jpg

Then, as I was making up the basics:
IMG_0672.jpg

Switch:
IMG_0676.jpg

Anyone see anything glaringly obvious? this is my first attempt at modding a Les Paul....go easy on me :thumb:

Thanks in advance

Lizzy4Life

Reaction score
Which pots are your volume pots? The push-pulls or the regular pots? Cause the push-pulls need to be the volume pots. You say you wired the caps from the middle lug of the v pot to the outer lug of the t pot, so looking at your picture I believe you've reversed v and t pot.
BTW great choice doing the 50's wiring! You won't regret it!

SJM

Epi Elitist Freak
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
+1.^^ I know because I have it both ways and it works fine. :)

Phildog

Reaction score
Dumb question, but where do you have the leads from the switch going. It's a little difficult to see in the photo.

Reactions: SJM

SJM

Epi Elitist Freak
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Dumb question, but where do you have the leads from the switch going. It's a little difficult to see in the photo.

I just noticed the same thing. I'm sure they're in there but I can't see them. Also the middle terminal on the push/pulls where you have the coil cut wires attached looks OK but the terminal directly beneath that has to be grounded to the pot. I don't see that in the pic either. :hmm:

onlypadog