Help with achieving a joe perry 1959 faded tobacco burst finish

DTJ12777

Reaction score
Hello, I am a amateur luthier and have plans to start a new build shortly, my plans are to build a replica of the joe perry/slash les paul that was used in november rain. i use Keda Dyes and was wondering if any luthiers or guitar refinishers could give me some advice on how to achieve that look.
i have attached pictures of the look i am going for as well as pictures of my work in hopes of advice on anything i am doing wrong. Thanks for the read :)

Attachments

ARandall

Reaction score
Unfortunately the best teacher is experience, plus trial and error.

Old finishes are very hard to get right, as there are aspects of the clear yellowing that just can't be replicated with dyes. Most replicas use aniline dyes as they will fade the right way....something that you probably will need to do to get the shading right.
The centre yellow will be a strong yellow mix with some amber to get it away from being flourescent in look over maple.
The typical cherry is mostly strong red with a couple of drops of blue - as over yellow the red will become orange. To this you'll need to add a good dose of brown. You might even have to do a couple of passes of pure brown on the perimeter.
A few tests on scrap of the same colour as maple (pine is good for this) will give you the right coverage and strength.

cooljuk

Transducer Producer
Premium Member
Reaction score
Alex - is it the case that some reds faded away in UV, while others darkened up? ...or is it that there were other darker parts of the pigment, along with the red, that just resisted fading better and stayed behind to create the dark bursts?

ARandall

Reaction score