Help: what wood do you think this is?

Tomer

Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I'm a rookie guitar builder and I would be happy for your help. Got these large slabs of wood in a yard sale, the owners didn't know what wood it is. As they recalled it came from a disassembled bed, which made me assume its pine or beech.

Edit:
Hi everyone! Thanks for all your responses.i took your advice, cut one of the slabs and roughly sanded it. Looks very different, it's now quite obvious to me that it was covered in some sort of lacquer or stain. So - here are new shots, maybe those would give a more informative view. In the picture with 2 pieces on the table the right is before sanding and left is after

What do you think?
20200714_150831.jpg
20200714_150805.jpg

Attachments

Last edited:

larryguitar

Reaction score
No idea on #2; looks discolored or stained? #1 is not pine, IMHO. Looks like a light piece of Luan, or something similar?

Larry

cherrick

Reaction score
Not pine.
Were these slats in the bed or pieces of the frame? Most likely slats.
If that's the case, they might be cheap paint-grade maple.
Can you measure the density? Weight / Volume. Like Pounds per cubic inch.

Ripthorn

Reaction score
Looks like great first or second guitar build wood to me! I've actually made a few guitars from pine/fir/etc. There's nothing wrong with it. I once built an entire guitar from a single white pine 2x4 just for fun (fretboard included!). It played and sounded great. Make something out of it and you'll learn much more than searching about whatever it is on the internet.

pshupe

Premium Member
Reaction score
Those are horrible pictures. Maybe wash them, show end grain, and better quality close up pics of each. What are the sizes? Pine and Beech are radically different woods. Beech can be about 3x as hard as pine. Is a hardwood. Where as pine is softwood. Pick it up. If it's heavy, it's not pine.