Help! Is this a real Gibson les paul?

Danjube

Reaction score
Hi,
I bought this Gibson Les Paul on Craigslist today, I paid $500. the seller said it is a les paul classic from 2006. It says Gibson on the headstock, and im no expert but it played just like the Gibson les Pauls Ive played at guitar center and I think it sounds really good. The serial number is DW06025, stamped in Ink. There is no "made in usa" anywhere on the guitar. Here is a link to the craigs list posting: Gibson Les Paul Classic 2006 sell / trade

Is this a real Gibson? if not, what is is? how much is it worth? pics are attached. Thanks.

Attachments

• IMG_4395.jpg
    IMG_4395.jpg
    28.9 KB · Views: 386
  • IMG_4396.jpg
    IMG_4396.jpg
    25 KB · Views: 178
  • IMG_4399.jpg
    IMG_4399.jpg
    39.9 KB · Views: 183

Rock1Guitar

Reaction score
Not a Gibson. Just an Epiphone with a Gibson stamped headstock (it says it right on the ad). He probably put some new Pups in the guitar.

BigC

Reaction score
Er... is this a joke?

The first bloody line of the add states it's an EPIPHONE with a re-shaped headstock.

Epiphone Les Paul Classic with custom Gibson shaped headstock and Gibson pearl inlay logo.

AXE

Six String Soldier
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Doesn't look good ...

9094d1236029256-help-real-gibson-les-paul-img_4395.jpg

sfla99

Reaction score
At $500 I think you over payed roughly $300 since a brand new Epi just recently would go for around $400 and change for a non Custom, add its got some abused portions of the guitar.

Sorry

tsuen

Reaction score
sfla99 Don't forget this is Canadian currency, which converts into <US$400. Prices of Epiphones have gone out lately here in Canada, so I'd say C$500 is more or less fair. The seller probably did not replace the pickups but just took out the covers. IMHO I don't think he got ripped off. I do agree it is overpaid a tiny little bit though :(

Danjube

Reaction score