Help identifying a Gibson LP i was thinking of buying

Ramsayjim

Reaction score
Hi all..i seen a guitar online which is for sale from a private seller living near me in the UK. Im a bit confused what model this is? Is it any good? How much are they worth 2nd hand?
Here are a few photos and also the Gibson Custom Cert says LPR-0. Anyone like to explain what this means?

Sorry im a newbie and thought id get some advice before buying...

Attachments

• LP1.jpg
    LP1.jpg
    38.5 KB · Views: 114
  • LP2.jpg
    LP2.jpg
    48.6 KB · Views: 97
  • LP3.jpg
    LP3.jpg
    33.6 KB · Views: 82
  • LP4.jpg
    LP4.jpg
    42.8 KB · Views: 80
  • LP5.jpg
    LP5.jpg
    36.2 KB · Views: 83

mchoate1

Reaction score
Gibson Custom Cert says LPR-0. = It is a Les Paul Reissue 1960. It sure does look good...

rockstar232007

Reaction score
Gibson Custom Cert says LPR-0. = It is a Les Paul Reissue 1960. It sure does look good...
That's not a CS Reissue. It's a LP 1960 Classic RI. Basically a "poor man's reissue".

As for the R-0, mine has the same thing, written in ink, in the neck pickup cavity.

Bobby Mahogany

Reaction score
Specs and stuff vary from different periods so it's not always easy to tell.
LPR-0 are Gibson Custom 1960 reissue.
They usually have different knobs and covers on the pickups.
Check that the serial number on the Certificate of Authenticity matches the serial number of the guitar.

At first glance, this looks more like a Classic. Nice but less expensive.
I would like to see pictures of the headstock and of the serial number.
It has the "regular" brown case with pink interior of the '90s - '00s.
The Custom Shop cases are black with Custom Shop logo in gold on it or brown with a different pink interior (see pic).
If you remove the controls cover plate, what's the inscription in it. LPC? R0?
Tell the seller you're really interested but before going to try it you want an extensive set of pics, including cavities.

Here's a LP R0

productImage

productImage