harsh playback through focus rite 2i2

M@nChild

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
1,673
Reaction score
1,434
Hope everyone had a good holiday!

With some time off, i got off my lazy @ss and re connected my gen 1 focus rite. Ive only ever set up mics with it to record guiitar amps.

I recently acquired the PRS amp plug ins and wanted to try them out. i dont have Monitors so i use the headphone out of my focusrite with a set of
audio technica ATHM50x.

So i set everything up with Reaper last night and gave it a go, what i found was a severe harshness anytime i used a distorted tone. It wasnt over the top ridiculous but enough to make it unpleasant after a 10-15 mins.

I haven't used the focus rite in a couple years and its been collecting dust. Could the unit it self be the problem? do i need a new interface? Is it the headphones? they are brand new and worked perfectly fine when i recorded and tracked amps last use, and have been sitting dormant since.

I would really like to get this figured out so i can get some better plug ins and have some fun late at night when being quiet is a must.
 

tzd

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
6,054
Reaction score
4,020
I don't know anything about computer plugins, but... is cabinet impulse response active?
 

filtersweep

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2012
Messages
1,366
Reaction score
1,833
Been using this stuff for decades. It generally works, or it doesn’t.

Are you using instrument level input?
 

KP11520

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
7,805
Reaction score
9,561
No red anywhere throughout the signal chain whether analog or digital. Especially Digital.

Levels all have to be below 100% always. Even peaks.
 

Ghostman

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2015
Messages
721
Reaction score
1,026
Second on the IR cabinet response. The Amp sims I'm used to all are without cab sims so they sound horrible straight through.
 

M@nChild

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
1,673
Reaction score
1,434
ive already come here for help so no need to pretend, i have no idea what you mean by IR cabinet response.

this is what found on the product page that references that.

8 speaker cabinet IRs with automatic IR browser

prs amp plug-in product page
 

tzd

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
6,054
Reaction score
4,020
Take a look at this video. The cabinet that comes after the amp is the Impulse Response.

 

rxbandit

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
8,287
Reaction score
15,761
Problem definitely lies in the PRS plugin and not the Focusrite interface.
 




Top