Guitar storage

JBranch

Reaction score
Yes, I've been playing guitars for 25 years or so... and in all that time, it has never occurred to me to ask: what is the best way to store your guitar? I've always had a HSC, but I usually have just tossed them under my bed, or left it on a guitar stand.

Things change, I've grown older, hopefully a little smarter and wiser. I'm on a limited income, but I saved my pennies and bought a Gibson Les Paul. I'm not gettin all mystical or misty-eyed, but it really is the guitar I've always wanted, even before I knew what I wanted.

That being said, I want to take much better care of this one than I have of my other guitars. I keep it in a HSC, but I play it every day. What is the best position for storage? Standing up? Laying flat? Also, should the need arise, what are the best practices for long-term storage?

Thanks

LongBeach

Reaction score
From what I've read thus far on this subject, as long as you keep it in the HSC,
your safe. I keep my lester's in the hsc, on edge. Simple because it takes up less
space in that position. I'm guessing, due to the fact you play it every day, your
safe.

Lots of folks leave them on the stands, wall hanger's, etc.
I live close to the beach, which creates tons of dust, quickly.
And I get sick and tired of cleaning the 1/4" of dust off them once
every week.

JBranch

Reaction score
Also, meant to include... I live in GA, high humidity. So I keep a silica packet in the HSC.

LongBeach

Reaction score
Also, meant to include... I live in GA, high humidity. So I keep a silica packet in the HSC.

I've always left those in them as well.
Cant hurt.

Spent a little time in Perry, ya, humity was a little on the "thick" side to say the least.

JBranch

Reaction score
Cant hurt.

Spent a little time in Perry, ya, humity was a little on the "thick" side to say the least.

I live 5 miles from Perry. So you definitely know what I'm talkin' about.

kjlugo

Reaction score