Greco Mint series

Bray n

Reaction score
I have been doing some research and have read a bunch of threads but still not quite educated on the MIJ LP's.
Were the 1990 Greco models still made in Japan? and are they considered a well made guitar. They look great! I am new to the MIJ Les Paul's but think I should get on board.
Was considering buying a LP studio recently as they are going for low prices right now. But I though maybe I should look into a MIJ LP.
Greco seems to be a good choice from what I've read. But which one's are considered good/well made. The price range is wide and I wonder as some of them creep up into and surpass Gibson prices. I guess that means they are as good or ?

Thanks for any help

Mr Teeny

Reaction score
Yep they were still making Japanese Greco's in 1990, but around that time Greco also contracted Cort/Cor-Tek to make budget guitars for them. The simplest way of checking is if there's no serial it's usually a Cort made one. There were also well made Japanese Tokai Grecos around the same time without serials just to confuse things, but a little research and you can easily spot the Cort ones if a Tokai made one takes your fancy.

The Golden period is generally assumed to be around the Super Real period 1979-1982, nibs etc, but the Mint Collection 1982 to early 1990's are certainly well made guitars. I think the thing with MIJ's is you really have to go out of your way to play one before believing all the hype. Plenty of the lower priced models will blow a studio out of the water and the higher priced ones are priced that high for a reason and plenty willing to pay it over a Gibson.

Just look thru the craigslist type ads , guitar shops etc and see if you can get to try one out to compare. Because they're not chambered they can be heavier than today's Gibsons and a poly finish doesn't suit everyone

wulfman

ABB Fan
Reaction score