Grainfiller?

marksoundguitars

Chief Paint Sniffer
Reaction score
What do you guys use for grainfiller?

I've done a bunch of F style guitars, used several different grain fillers, and never been satisfied with any of them. I'm new to the LP side of things, so I want to get it right.

After re-reading Gil Yaron's thread on that other forum it got me thinking about grainfillers again. So I decided to try what he did to see if it would work for me.

I bought some 4F pumice, boiled linseed oil, mineral spirits, and some dark red mahogany aniline powder. Today I mixed up a little in a small plastic cup and did a test board to see what it looked like.

uJZFLvYm.jpg

It looked good to me, so I jumped in with both feet.

I brushed it on like I'd seen in the Gibson tour videos, waited a few minutes, then rubbed off the excess with cheesecloth. There was enough left in that batch that after the first round dried I did another one for good measure. It looks good, the color is light enough that I can darken it with toner if it needs it, and hopefully all the open pores are filled.

yRSxXENl.jpg

Right now it feels gritty, so after giving it some time to dry I'll wipe it down with dry cheesecloth and shoot some sealer.

If this works, it's the easiest grainfill I've ever done.

Hoping for some tips and tricks, to make this one better than the last.

B. Howard

Reaction score
I currently use UV cured pore filler. It's the best thing out there and by far the easiest. Wipes on like honey, hiy iy with the light and sand. That's it, done! I have tried everything over the years on all types of wood. Pumice & shellac, paste filler, epoxies, drywall compound, sprayed polyesters.....all work. Some better than others depending on what you are putting over them.

The stuff you see in the gibson videos is a traditional oil based paste pore filler designed to work with a nitro system. They and martin are about the last souls on earth that still use that in a factory setting.