Gibson Les Paul Standard '50s Electric Guitar - New guitar with feedback issues

p64imp

Reaction score
Hi All,

I wanted to ask how common it is to have feedback on a Gibson Les Paul 50's Standard guitar. My first i purchased from Musician's Friend had bad string buzz that was the result of a twisted neck. I sent it back and got this one as a replacement - but I am noticing that when i plug it in i get feedback from the guitar that gets worse with overdrive effects. The feedback buzz goes away when i touch the strings, but when i release my hand, after a second, the buzz comes back. It's not crazy loud, but its definitely there and annoying.

I'd expect for a $2800 guitar that there wouldn't be electrical buzz coming out of the amp - especially when my $1200 Schecter is whisper quiet....

What i want to know being somewhat of a novice here is, is what i am describing typical for a Gibson Les Paul 50's Standard, or do i have a lemon? Should i go through the headache of yet another replacement guitar, or is what i have a typical example of this guitar, and i should just accept it?

I'm trying to learn off Rocksmith, and plugging in there the noise is actually way worse as the buzz with the gain levels sounds like i'm playing with a radio slightly out of tune in the background when i dont touch the strings.

Looking for some advice here.

Thanks much!

LPTDMSV

Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
Goes away when you touch the strings? if it’s a buzzing noise, that’s more likely to be a bad earth than feedback. Maybe post a sound clip?

irocdave12

Reaction score