Gibson help

dazzer22

Reaction score
I got a new Gibson and would like to know if this is normal I am not an expert on how a guitar should be but there is a gap on the bridge and saddle studs on one side of the guitar , I took two pictures of both sides the other side seems ok . The frets seem a little flat too .

ArchEtech

Gold Supporting Member
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Doesn’t look odd to me. If this is factory brand new I wouldn’t be surprised if they do that to keep the nitro from cracking and or getting depressions before the finish is completely cured. There is no reason to have the studs air tight to the body.

Frets look normal to me. Your binding looks great! Gibson doesn’t come with the super round and crowned jumbo frets.

Last edited:

sonar1

Reaction score
Looks low on the treble side.
Any fret buzz?

Most bridge studs look like that.

mudface

Boo Bee
Double Platinum Supporting Member
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum!

Yes... your LP is perfectly normal.

How about more pics.

Cjsinla

Reaction score
No, that gap is not normal. You might try tapping it in a little more, they are pressed in at the factory. But I’d be more concerned about slamming that tailpiece down, that string break angle over the bridge is a little severe. It might cause the bridge to collapse over time.

redcoats1976

Reaction score
was it bought from an online source or an actual guitar shop?a good setup could probably make it sing if you like the rest of it.possibly an online store would give you some credit towards a setup.

Gitter

Reaction score
I'd personally slack the strings, take off the the bridge and loosen/remove the posts to see if it's just a minor tweak before sending it back.

CattleDog

Reaction score