Getting my feet wet

Riffraff12571

Reaction score
I'm a recording noob trying to join modern society. I got a guitar interface from my wife years ago and because it didn't work with windows 8 which was what I had at the time it got tossed in the closet and sat there for years. Fast forward to a couple of months ago. I got sick of recording guitar clips with a looper pedal and decided to set the interface up. It's an entry level Lexicon Alpha. I had a crappy HP desk top that was new and not being used so I hooked it up to that and downloaded Reaper. I wake up at 4 a.m. every morning and fire it up while I'm waking up with a cup of coffee and try to learn something new before I have to do my morning animal chores and start work. The nice thing about Reaper besides being a low cost powerful tool which is what I wanted since the rest of my DAW rig is low budget crap is it's been around so long that whenever you want to know how to do something you can just type it in Google and the answer is right in front of you in a split second. Here's something I learned early....Windows updates SUCK! It took me a while to figure out why nothing worked after the 1st one came after loading Reaper.

Yesterday I learned how to load a backing track, edit it down to just a short section, fade the volume in & out and how to remove the 60hz hum from my recorded amp track. I also learned how to use the automated volume control to mask a mistake (unintended string noise in this case). I know this is childs play for most of you but....this is some fun stuff!

Here's the short clip byproduct of my lesson.

MIM Tele with a blade type humbucker in the bridge > Danelectro Pride of Texas OD > Tweaker in Brit, Tight, Deep, treble 5, Mid 5, Bass 3, Clean, gain control around 7 > Mass100 attenuator line out > interface > desk top running Reaper > G12M65 speaker IR > TAL Reverb 4 & Valhalla Supermassive delay plugins from free downloads.