Fretboards - what do you suppose I have here?

greens

Reaction score
I bought these two fretboards a few years ago on ebay. Supposedly they originated with the estate of an elderly luthier and were marked "Brazilian." That's all the info I have. They are planed, slotted and dotted at Fender scale. The lighter colored one is very dry and light to the touch. The darker one feels heavier. What do they look like to you? Thoughts appreciated.

1st one:

1.jpg

1a.jpg

1bb.jpg

Uncle Vinnie

Proud Boomer
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
IDK, but Braz seems darker than what you have ... BUT I'm no expert.

LtDave32

Desert Star Guitars
Super Mod
Silver Supporting Member
Gold Supporting Member
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
First one has the swirl of paduak.

But the color is more yellow than the typical paduak, which is pumpkin orange when cut.

Second one is likely Pau Ferro, otherwise known as Bolivian rosewood.

larryguitar

Reaction score
First one has the swirl of paduak.

But the color is more yellow than the typical paduak, which is pumpkin orange when cut.

Second one is likely Pau Ferro, otherwise known as Bolivian rosewood.
Any Padauk I've had out unfinished goes darker, rather than lighter, also. Heads off toward brown rather than yellow.

Larry

LtDave32

Desert Star Guitars
Super Mod
Silver Supporting Member
Gold Supporting Member
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Any Padauk I've had out unfinished goes darker, rather than lighter, also. Heads off toward brown rather than yellow.

Larry
I've got a paduak finger board on my first ever build, right here next to me.

It's 12-13 years old.

Decidedly chocolate. Used to be orange.

LtDave32

Desert Star Guitars
Super Mod
Silver Supporting Member
Gold Supporting Member
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
I want to say "bubinga", but the yellow color is keeping me from saying that.

I'd blurt out "mesquite" but I know better.

The second one, due to the lack of grain pits, I'd totally bet on Bolivian.

greens

Reaction score