Folded plans

Bainzy

Reaction score
What do you guys do to get plans flat when you've received them folded in the post?

The common methods I can see for removing creases in paper are ironing (cloth in between), steam (leave it in bathroom whilst showering!) or using weights and tension.

My main worry would be stretching the paper and wrecking the dimensions but is this fear unnecessary?

pshupe

Reaction score
If you can lay them flat with a piece of cardboard or mdf about the same size the creases will eventually come out. Any "good" plans should have the important dimensions written on the drawings. Any non-critical dimensions like a body outline should be fine to use as a template. Never scale from a drawing for an exact dimension like fret slots, or scale length. If those dimensions aren't written they are not a "good" set of plans.

I do construction drawings for a living and helped Tom Bartlett with his plans. I have purchased many many sets of plans and very few are what I would describe as "good". Most are OK and some are downright trash for building.

Regards Peter.

PS - To which plans are you referring? I'm always interesting in checking out others plans. ;-)

Bainzy

Reaction score
Thanks Peter, I guess you'll be disappointed then because they aren't others, they are yours! :laugh2:

I've had the generic plans from Tom for many years and just bought the exact 59 replica ones as well, they arrived today hence me thinking about it. The measurements are all there, it would just be a shame to find out after I'd got them here all the way across the Atlantic ocean and flattened them to find that I've stretched them irreparably.

I don't like the idea of cutting them up, instead I like using tracing paper. It works well, it's just slower than I'd like because I have to be meticulous in flattening the folds as I trace on the larger sections.