Fishman vs. LRBaggs Piezo bridge…help me design my next guitar!

pinefd

V.I.P. Member
Gold Supporting Member
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

As some of you may know, I’ve been making octave guitars for a few years. But now, I’d like to do an octave guitar that’s a bit different…and more versatile, than what I’ve been doing all along.

As such, I’m working on a semi-hollowbody design, with a mahogany body and neck, and a flat maple cap. Scale length is 15.5”. And, instead of the one neck humbucker (my Standard octave), or the one P-90 (as in my Junior octave), I want to do something a little different, as I mentioned previously.

So, I’m thinking of doing one version of the guitar with a piezo ABR style bridge, so that it’s more of an acoustic-electric octave, and another version that has both a piezo bridge and a P-90 or mini-hum in the neck position. With the latter, I’d want to be able to switch from one pickup to the other (the piezo and the magnetic pickup), or use both simultaneously.

I’ve never, ever worked with a piezo bridge before, but I’m assuming that the acoustic version of my guitar would probably be relatively easy and straightforward. Except there’s the whole active versus passive piezo thing, which I’m kinda confused by.

But once we get into the piezo/P-90/mini-hum version, it gets a lot more complicated, I would imagine. Plus, because these are little guitars (about the size of a mandolin or tenor ukulele), I’m somewhat limited in the number of knobs/switches I can aesthetically and functionally fit onto the guitar. I’m thinking that the most I’d want to squeeze onto the guitar would be three knobs and one switch. But I’m not exactly sure what the functions of each would be...perhaps a volume control for each pickup, and a single, shared tone control; and also a three-way toggle switch to use for pickup selection.