First Build (turned into two...)

DaveR

Reaction score
Hi, everybody! After 9 months of lurking/planning and 3 months of slow building, I've finally decided to start my build thread. Allow me to apologize in advance for long windedness. It’s going to happen, and I only hope that the end result is an informative read for those who have the patience to endure it. I prefer very detailed explanations about this sort of thing and tend to ramble...

Just a bit of background, I'm in my early 30's, married, father to a little girl (another on the way) and work full time as a graphic designer. I have a 2.5 car garage to work in, but throughout the winter I have had to share it with 2 cars, making my building time sporadic, at best.

I've been playing guitar for 15 years, and have been playing weekend gigs in various bands for at least 10 years. My most recent band played our last show on St. Patrick's day, and now is a good time for me be "retired" from playing, what with a new baby on the way.

I have done a bit of wood working over the years. My father dabbled in wood work occasionally, but never took anything beyond the level of "rough carpentry". I've built a few pieces of fine furniture for my house and a couple of other decorative projects, but guitar building is taking things to a whole new level.

Last summer, I was about ready to purchase a Les Paul kit from Precision guitars, but stumbled across a guy on Craigslist selling some woodworking equipment at crazy low prices, and spent all my saved up guitar funds on machinery instead. While I don't have all the power tools I would like, I think I have plenty to build a guitar with. Certainly more than a lot of the builders I have seen on here, who do very fine work with very few tools. That's around the same time that I discovered this wonderful forum, read a lot of build threads (especially Barnaby's) and got the crazy idea that I could pull this off...