Fake Vibrola's on SG Specials etc?

Dogbreath

Reaction score
I am still learning about vintage SG's and have a question. I am seeing lots of SG's for sale online, both Specials and Juniors as well as Melody Makers that appear to have reproduction short vibrolas mounted on them. But, I could be wrong. I know that WD Music and others sell repros and that there probably many SG's that have been stripped of their original vibrolas. I have no problem with that, but sellers should be honest. On the other hand, I suppose that there were possibly variations with original SG's depending on the vendor who supplied the part. Anyway, here are two SG Specials The first one is a '68 appears to me to have an original vibrola. Note how the three screws that attach it to the body utilize spacers under the curved lip of the body. The arm attaches with a slotted screw. This is the same vibrola that is mounted on my '65 Melody Maker. The second photo is a '67 SG Special that I suspect of having a reproduction vibrola. The vibrola is identical to the one sold by WD Music and it has a phillips head screw attaching the arm. I spoke with the owner and he assured me that the vibrola is origina. What do you all think? What are the possible variations in original short vibrolas?
68 Special.jpeg
67 Special.jpeg

CerebralGasket

Reaction score
My first SG was a 1969 SG Special that I purchased second hand. The short vibrola was already missing. Later on I purchased a second hand 1963 SG Special with short vibrola pictured below.

Crazyparts also sells repro short vibrolas.

With the style in the photo of the 1967 SG Special, I have seen them where the lip with the three mounting screws has square corners and others that have a radius corner. Not sure if those were factory stock or repros.

Dogbreath

Reaction score