Factory or not?

dlbx2

Reaction score
I am looking at a 2012 Standard. The bridge and stop bar both have hex head set screws. It was my understanding that Gibson factory Tune-O-Matic bridges don't have set screws. The only ones that I have seen has been Tone Pros, and these screws are in the same position on the bridge and stop bar that the Tone Pros are. I questioned him about it and he says that it is all original factory. I hate to directly, or indirectly accuse someone of being dishonest, particularly since I am still learning myself. How about it guys, am I being round-housed, or did/does Gibson put set screw Tune-O-Matics on 2012 Les Paul Standards. Thanks, DLB

Tom.Ashworth

Reaction score
To my knowledge they do not have screws to keep them in place but this is a common aftermarket change to guitars

dlbx2

Reaction score
Tom, thanks for the reply. I realize that it is a common aftermarket change due to the tailpiece falling off, or the bridge, when changing strings if you aren't careful. But, when you are looking at a $2000 price tag, and you ask point blank about specific items, then you should get an honest, accurate answer. Here are the question and answer;

Hello, 2 questions.
1. Does this guitar have the quick release electronics panel?
2. It appears to have Tone Pro bridge and stop bar, as Gibson doesn't have set screws in the factory ones. Are there any other non-factory items?
Thank You,

1.) yes - you mean plug and play PCB board for pickups right?
2.) everything is stock

It wouldn't be an issue, as I kind of like the locking ones, if it were advertised as such. Am I being unreasonable! If you think so, say so. My feelings won't be hurt and I won't be offended. I bought and sold collector grade S&W vintage revolvers for years, and if you asked about ANYTHING with regard to an item that you were considering as a purchase, you expected full disclosure in the answer. DLB

jeffy

Reaction score