Epi Humbucker wiring help needed.

DaveBall

Reaction score
Newbie here, but jumping in with both feet.

Have this old Epi LP that the wiring was ruined by previous owner. Fixing it up for my son. Picked up a set of new 4 wire Epiphone humbuckers along with new tone and volume pots with push pull for coil tapping. Trying to figure out wiring diagram for this. I can see lots of different diagrams, but they all seem for Seymour Duncan pickups.

Can I assume that I can use the Deymour Duncan diagram, but just change the colours as follows:

Seymour Duncan Epiphone

Black ------------Red
White -----------White
Red -------------Green
Green -----------Black

And if anyone has a preferred wiring diagram for the Les Paul to achieve coil tapping using the push/pull switches on the volume pots, please let me know. Any link would be great.

Thanks

DaveBall

Reaction score
Thanks Mondomojo, That is where I got my color codes from. I was just hoping that Epiphone PUs and Gibson PUs are basically wired the same.

What my son wants is to set up this LP the same as one of the new LP Pros that come with the coil tapping as stock. So got a great deal on new Epi PUs and the new wiring and pots/switches. But, as the originals were only 2 wire PUs, I was having issues figuring out the proper connections. I guess if I solder them up I can't really do any harm to the PUs. And if it does not work, or work well, I can spring for some better quality Seymour Duncans or ??

My soldering ability is pretty good, as one of my hobbies is fixing old radios and stereos. Always have to fix old solder joints carefully.

Lutherie

Reaction score
You need to mess up very badly before you brake anything. I would look for a wiering diagram for 50's wiring, these were not coile taped but there are some digrams out there that explain how you can do that.
After you built the hardness then you can worry about conecting the pickups.

Jonesy has a version you might be intrested in see this link

mondomojo