Early to mid 90s Gibson Les Paul Special Doublecut

Fatwalnut

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm currently in the market for an early to mid 90s Gibson Les Paul Special Doublecut, which in my experience thus far are a good bit harder to find than the singlecut. I've found a couple for sale and am discussing prices with the sellers, but it occurred to me that while I have a pretty decent idea of singlecut pricing, I have very little base knowledge as to the doublecut pricing.

So, my inquiry is what would be a fair price or price range for an early to mid 90s Les Paul Special Doublecut in say very good to excellent condition?

Thank you!

Cjsinla

Premium Member
Reaction score
I would think that the pricing for the two styles would be very similar. But why the emphasis on one from the mid 90s?

Fatwalnut

Reaction score
I would think that the pricing for the two styles would be very similar. But why the emphasis on one from the mid 90s?
Hey, thanks for the reply!

Believe it or not, from my "research" (which mainly involves trawling reverb, ebay, and other places for les paul specials daily), it seems there are significantly more singlecuts for sale than doublecuts (except for 2015s; there are so many 2015 doublecuts for sale). I'd hazard a guess that for every 20 singles I see, I see one or two doubles. Along with that, the doublecuts I see are generally priced higher than their singlecut counterparts.

As for the early to mid 90s, again just from reading around, they seem to be very well made and playing, and generally seem to be highly regarded in terms of LP specials. Moreover, the specials made during that era featured the pearloid gibson logo on the headstock, neck binding (no nibs!), and (almost) period correct tuners. Because of this, for me personally, this makes this particular period of LP specials more desirable.

On top of that, I play a lot of 90s alternative and punk rock, and what better instrument to serve that purpose than a 90s LP Special! :)