Dragonfire guitar pickups

Aj6stringsting

Reaction score
I've been playing guitar since 1978, played thru many amps, guitars, pickups, pedals and multu effects.

Back in the late 00's, I wanted to try different guitar Pickups other than the usual Dimarzio, Seymour Duncan, BKP or Bill Lawrence pickups.

I discovered GFS and Dragonfire pickups. I was very very surprised on the tones these companies packed in those pickups.

At the time I couldn't find any Bill Lawrence L-250's pickups to put in the neck position of my S, S, H Super Strats.
A guitar student of mine got a Dragonfire Duo Rail for his guitar, so I installed them for him .... I was very surprised.
So I ordered two.

It was like a Bill Lawrence L-250, with Dimarzio Chopper / YJM ( HS 4 ) upper mids and some PAF overtones on steroids. Back then, it was only $ 17.95 USD .

Then I got the Screamers set for only $ 24.95 very Seymour Duncan JB / w Bill Lawrence XL-500 upper mids and highs . Neck 8.4k ohms and bridge rated at 16.9k ohms on my meter.

The Vintage Alnico 5 Screamers Gold Covered bridge pickup was put in a Les Paul Custom. Rated at 16.09k ohms on my meter
Pure PAF , Dimarzio Evo / Carvin M22SD punch with balance highs .

Recently, I ordered a Modbucker humbucker pickup for the neck of my Randy Rhoads / Jackson copy.
The site said it was rated at 10.4k ohms, but on my meter it was 11.5k ohms.
Totally like a cross between a Seymour Duncan Pearly Gates / SD Screamin' Demon on with upper mid muscle.

Any body else had any luck with these pickups too ?

fry

Reaction score
I've been playing guitar since 1978, played thru many amps, guitars, pickups, pedals and multu effects.

Back in the late 00's, I wanted to try different guitar Pickups other than the usual Dimarzio, Seymour Duncan, BKP or Bill Lawrence pickups.

I discovered GFS and Dragonfire pickups. I was very very surprised on the tones these companies packed in those pickups.