Current 2nd Hand Les Paul pricing...Too High?

iluvchiclets

Reaction score
Hi all,

Just writing today to ask opinions from the collected members on this forum. I have real conflicted feelings about the current prices of 2nd hand Les Pauls. Granted, I've only been in the Gibson market for about 4 months, but I've been playing guitar for over 40 years and have bought and sold many, many electric guitars...

I feel that people are charging excessively for 2nd hand Gibson Les Pauls - to the point where they're asking more for what they sold for new.

(Now, I understand when we're talking about 60's and 70's guitars that the price can actually increase, but for a 2009 Les Paul? Or a 2015 Les Paul? They're not that collectible yet, are they?)
A guitar that sold in 2010 for $1799 CAD, feels overpriced in 2022 for $2500 CAD. I mean, really...!?

I do appreciate that Gibson's hold their value better than other brands. (ie, an Epiphone Les Paul that sold for $599 10 years ago typically sells for approx $400 2nd hand here in Canada)

In my mind, people asking $3000 CAD for a 2010 Les Paul are basing their 2nd-hand price on the current new Les Paul pricing.

Am I missing a point or part of the picture? Will someone reply and say, "Brother...used prices are crazy right now. I wouldn't pay those prices...?"

I love looking at these used guitars, and I want to buy one (or two), but I keep hitting a wall with these numbers. I should add, that I have purchased 4 Les Pauls in the last few months, and I paid no more than $2100 CAD for each of them, so there are some "reasonable" prices out there (although $2100 is actually more than a 2012 traditional sold for when new.)

I don't mind paying for a top that speaks to me...perhaps $2300- $2500 CAD...but man, are these $2900 CAD people out-of-touch? I acknowledge that you will always see people selling at comparatively high-prices, but watching the Gibson Les Paul Market here in Canada (and on Reverb) show the above mentioned trend.