Convince me not to sand my guitar, please

Desorden

Reaction score
Hi,

This is my first post here and I just want to thank you all for this community that I have been following for a long time.

Let me tell you about my dilemma: I bought a gorgeous 81' Washburn Falcon (neck thru construction with a rosewood top) which arrived to me with some damage on the polyurethane coating due to the transport.

Besides the small dings and dongs here and there that the guitar collected in the last 39 years there were some chips missing in both sides of the neck were it meets the body and some crack lines going around.

A local luthier filled the missing finishing chips with cyanocrilate and buffed it. Most of the damage is gone but there are some scars and cracks and it makes me feel sad seeing this nice guitar like that.

I have some experience sanding furniture and some basic woodworking skills, I did a couple of satisfactory projects with shellac. The idea of sanding the whole thing and then redoing the finishing with shellac has been hunting me for the last month or longer.

It would have some disadvantages for sure: for a start, the waterslide decal on the head would be gone with the polyurethane. But it can be copied and remade. The dyed body would probably need to be redyed.

My trusted friend and luthier has been telling me, that this is a crazy task that will bring only more drama. The polyurethane used in MIJ guitars back in the eighties is really a hard stuff that can be only removed with nasty solvents I could not buy these here and have no place to use them anyway. Sanding the guitar by hand will be tedious and my friend says that after two days sanding the guitar will look horrible and I will be regretting the whole idea. Power tools might be quicker but with the lack of experience with guitars I could do a lot of harm... Having a carved top sure doesn't help at all.

Should I just embrace the wear and tear and accept the new cracklines?

Desorden

Reaction score