Combo Speakers: 10” VS 12”?

JMP

Reaction score
I’m not an expert nor do I have extensive experience, so I’m posing this inquiry to others for their expert opinions.
I have two awesome hand wired tube amps in my life: 10 watt British voiced Fender Champ in a Pro Jr chassis made by Carl’s Custom Amps and a hand wired Fender Deluxe Reverb.

They are apples and oranges. Both very different.

I really like the smooth and round character of the Deluxe. The Pro Jr has a lot more “bite” to it and the overall response of the amp is very immediate. When switching between amps, I find it challenging to acclimate to the Pro Jr. It’s overall character highlights everything with your playing and technique.......including mistakes and sloppy playing!

Would putting the Pro Jr in a new and larger combo cabinet with a 12” speaker smooth out the overall tone and feel of the amp?

Ideally, I’d plug the Pro Jr into some extension cabs and experiment, but I don’t have that option right now......and I figured this would be a fun discussion with my guitar colleagues!

ChuckHall03

Reaction score