Combo Practice Amp for a newbie

AerenS

Reaction score
Hello!

I am new on both on forum and electric guitar (playing nylon strings accoustic for a while). For the guitar, i am gonna buy an epi lp. With it, i need to buy a combo practice amp. I cannot spare enough for a tube amp for a while and also since i live in small flat with others, i cannot use it properly even if i buy one. So i need some advice for practice combo amp below 200$.

In the price range i have seen Line 6 spiderIV 15, Orange Crush PiX CR20L, Line 6 Micro Spider, Fender Frontman 15g.

For the sound: Since i am new to this, i dont have any precise thoughts on sound or genre but i like to listen clapton, jbonamassa etc. and some alternative rock stuff. (This is the another reason that i want to buy some cheap-ass practice amp before i find an amp that i love)

Any Suggestions ?

Sequimite

Reaction score
There is one tube amp that is close to your price range. The Peavey Classic 20 usually sells for around $250. I bought mine for $300 but it included a new $65 set of JJ pre and power tubes and was in excellent condition. They were only made for a few years and you'd have to be patient for the right one to come along.

add> At 18 watts it's loud enough to play with a band and for quiet practice it has a headphone jack.

jdto

Pretend Human
Reaction score
I think the Fender Mustang series are worth a look. I was in a similar boat to you when I got into electric guitars and I have been happy with mine, so far. You can get to know a decent approximation of the tone of several amp models and the Mustangs are also decent amps in their own right, especially for the money. I went for the Mustang 3, but the 1 or 2 would be in your price range and they also get good reviews.

cybermgk

“Happiness is the most insidious prison of all"
Gold Supporting Member
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
For a person in your situation, I'd almost always recommend

Blackstar ID Core 10, or better 20.

Yamaha THR10