celluloid inlay material

fatdaddypreacher

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
two part question here....can celluloid material be successfully cut with laser printer, and if so any tricks? part two....if so, where could i get a small piece of it to make inlays with. thanks.
i would like it to be close to original design

Last edited:

Oranjeaap

Reaction score
Cut it with a Laser printer?

I believe the stuff to be flamable so anything with laser in it sounds like a bad idea. But I'm far from an expert on the matter.

Reactions: Who

pshupe

Premium Member
Reaction score
Yes it can be cut with a laser cutter / engraver. I've had some cut and they did not ignite but they smoked a bit and threatened. You may want to test on a small piece.

Your second question is more tricky. It is extremely expensive stuff to buy in sheets. That is why it is quite expensive as an inlay set as well. You can find some on ebay but sometimes the pattern and colour is not quite right. Also as everything else online you have to be concerned that it is not the correct material.

Cheers Peter.

pbekkerh

Reaction score
Ask museums with old celluloid films, they are extremely flammable.

In my youth, we used to peel celluloid of bike handlebars and use it for smokebombs, by igniting it and then blow out the flame.

fatdaddypreacher

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Yes it can be cut with a laser cutter / engraver. I've had some cut and they did not ignite but they smoked a bit and threatened. You may want to test on a small piece.

Your second question is more tricky. It is extremely expensive stuff to buy in sheets. That is why it is quite expensive as an inlay set as well. You can find some on ebay but sometimes the pattern and colour is not quite right. Also as everything else online you have to be concerned that it is not the correct material.

Cheers Peter.