Can’t figure out the OHM switch on Ampeg?

mrdannyboy

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2014
Messages
819
Reaction score
864
371C55A1-05A3-4D7D-8BD0-A97602199279.jpeg
Hey guys I bought this head it’s the AMPEG reverbrocket re-issue In the pic I don’t know which ohm setting is on when it’s flat across like it is there on there on the 16 ohm setting. Anybody know how those particular ones work Would it be when the flat pieces across like it is on 16 right now or when right now on 8 ohm it’s all in infented. I can’t find information anywhere on the web on this.

It’s going into a 212 cab wired at eight ohms. When I have it set so that flat piece is in front of the 16 ohm like it is now it’s louder than one that flat part of it is in front of the eight ohm if that helps at all. Don’t want to wreck anything so if anybody knows i’d really appreciate it Thanks
 

ARandall

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2012
Messages
12,862
Reaction score
8,565
Its only got 2 settings - so then the switch will have 2 settings. As 16 is on the left the switch will be on 16 when in the left posi too.
 

mrdannyboy

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2014
Messages
819
Reaction score
864
I just don’t know if I’m explaining it right

See how right now there’s a flat part across the 16 and the eight is it’s a dig out area So what I’m trying to find out is whether the setting is on when the flat part is beside it ,like now on the 16 ohm. It literally doesn’t tell you in the manual

The only thing that I can tell that might help is when the flat part is on 16 the cab is louder when the flat part is on 8 it’s lower volume

Would I hurt anything bedroom levels if I have the wrong setting selected It’s just thrown me for a loop and everybody who I know who seen it who aren’t bands they’ve said I don’t know it could be either one I’m hoping on the guitar form that some people have this style of ohm switch
 

ErictheRed

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2009
Messages
4,985
Reaction score
5,996
In your picture, it's in the 16 ohm setting. You can verify that by measuring the resistance with a multimeter. All you have to do is stick a speaker cable in the amp output but don't connect it to a cab, and measure the resistance between the center conductor and outer conductor of the connector. Of course, the amp should be off.
 

ARandall

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2012
Messages
12,862
Reaction score
8,565
Its a 2 position switch......you can literally only move it one direction from wherever its sitting now - surely its not so hard to put your hand on it and physically figure out the L and R directions???
 

mrdannyboy

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2014
Messages
819
Reaction score
864
Its a 2 position switch......you can literally only move it one direction from wherever its sitting now - surely its not so hard to put your hand on it and physically figure out the L and R directions???
I understand that man it’s not hard to switch or whatever I’m just trying to figure out which Way the switch needs to be on that particular ohm setting. I don’t know whether the One setting is selected one that Flat piece is beside it or whether it’s activated when the indented piece is beside it. That’s why I asked if I’m running an eight on carb and I put it on eight on what’s going to be loud or 1608 on because when I switch back-and-forth from whatever it is 8 to 16 or 16 to 8 there is a significant improvement or loudness in it So I’m trying to figure out whether it should be louder or less loud
Like I said the manual doesn’t tell you whether it’s 16 ohms is selected one that flat pieces beside it or when the flat piece is away from it beside the 8 ohm I’m not sure whether you’re getting what I’m saying. Just trying to find out what activates eight and 16 ohms whether it’s the flat piece or the piece that is dug out piece. From the picture I posted what did you say what do you think is selected up there a ohm or 16 a ohm
 

Big John

if you're quieter than the drummer, you are a puss
V.I.P. Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2007
Messages
7,423
Reaction score
6,971
...when the flat part is on 16 the cab is louder when the flat part is on 8 it’s lower volume...
Output volume changes happen all the time with head-cab ohm mismatches. Not a big deal, and I really wouldn't dwell on it too much. Just set it to the right for your 8 ohm cab and run with it.
 

mrdannyboy

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2014
Messages
819
Reaction score
864
Slide it to the left for 16, slide it to the right for 8.

Tell me that seems logical I just where is the manual would say it because there’s so little of me on a room for error sorry information on the Internet about these amps. And they’re absolutely fantastic Thanks for the reply
 

mrdannyboy

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2014
Messages
819
Reaction score
864
Like Eric said
from the picture I have up there To get the flat plastic thing in front of that 8 ohm you push to the left so that stuff that’s in front of 16 home right now goes underneath and the 8 ohm is covered flush to get the flat plastic thing in front of that you push to the left. thanks for your reply. I think I’ll try it with the multimeter. Cheers
 




Top