BYO DCjr Kit build anybody?

Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I'm currently working on a DCjr kit build from BYO Guitars using nothing but StewMac rattlecans for finishing. I've looked to see if anyone's done a thread on BYO's guitars, and didn't see one. I figured it be another option for users looking for inexpensive kits to check out here.

So what say ye? Shall I start the "Lenny" Chronicles?

gator payne

Reaction score
I have had 3 students build BOYG kits. They are Ok but nothing to write home to mom about.

Reaction score
Quite true Gator. While it's certainly not the best kit one could buy, with time and effort, I'm hoping to have a very nice instrument that I can be proud of. :)

This is my first build on my own (my late uncle was a phenomenal luthier and he got me started with instrument building when I was a child at his shop in West VA, but more on that later), and I wanted something simple to start with, so I went with a BYO kit, mostly because of their prices, and excellent customer service.

I ordered the double cutaway Les Paul Jr. kit, which comes with all hardware and trim included, but I am upgrading quite a few pieces as follows...

Stock P90 replaced with a Kent Armstrong WPULJ pickup
Stock nut replaced with GraphTech Tusq
Stock tuners replaced with TonePros vintage Kluson butterscotch keystones
Stock pickguard altered with some Macassar Ebony veneer
Stock tailpiece replaced with Badass bridge.

Also, for finishing supplies, I'm using all StewMac rattlecans (1 can sanding sealer, 1 can of cherry nitro, and 3 cans of clear gloss nitro) and TimbreMate woodfiller.

Everything listed above cost me about $400 US, which is INSANELY inexpensive.

Unfortunately, I don't have many pics from the start of the build, but I'll show you what I have so far...

Here's the 3 piece Mahogany body right after I put the bushings in to check the original tailpiece.